to be big & beautiful . . .

“Beauty is when you can appreciate yourself. When you love yourself, that’s when you’re most beautiful.” -Zoe Kravitz

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
VENICE BEACH x PEACE SIGN

I hate my arms, I barely ever wear them out. The scarred lines of stretched skin both embarrass and disgust me. Damaged. That’s how I feel . I hate that I have a beer belly and have only drank beer maybe twice in my lifetime; it’s a taste I have yet to acquire. Since moving to LA I’ve gained back the 30lbs. I lost and added even more . It seems like I yo-yo this 20lbs every couple months when I decide to “get back on my fitness journey,” never  quite sticking it through to the end. My thighs combined are the bulk of my weight and I keep them covered at all cost, even if that means jeans in the summertime; you won’t catch me dead in a pair of shorts. Always covering up , overcompensating for what I feel I lack. I hate to admit it , but I resent the term plus-size and I refuse to step foot into Ashley Steward. Maybe because apart of me doesn’t want to accept that I am apart of that community and because somehow admitting makes it true; I don’t take it as a compliment. I hate that I think that way, that I have somehow been programmed to believe that big is only better if we aren’t talking about people. Its hard loving yourself where you are when where you want to be seems so far away. That’s what this photo shoot was about for me. My friend Ari Leticia , aspiring songstress and photographer, was very instrumental in the success of this shoot, single-handedly scouting out places that would fit the theme and color scheme of my personal branding image. Of course I waited until the last minute to throw together looks , but I am very happy with the finished product. Really all I desire to do is inspire women to love themselves right where they are. It’s okay to want to change things, but don’t let how you look on the outside define who you are on the inside; beauty is more than skin deep. * Disclaimer: I am no model, but for a day I felt pretty and that’s all that matters.*

Griffith Park + Venice Beach x Nataja Zanelle , let’s go!

First up: Griffith Park x Pink Train

IMG_3797
TRYING TO SMIZE ( LIKE TYRA TAUGHT ME)
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
I’M SURPRISED I’M EVEN POSTING THIS ONE *STOMACH*
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
THIS IS WHAT HAPPEN WHY YOU TRY TO LOOK FIERCE LOL

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
ONE OF MY FAVORITES

Next UP: Venice Beach x Graffiti Walls

FullSizeRender (7)
MEDITATION FOR THE MIND
IMG_3846
THERE’S THAT RESTING B*TCH FACE *sighs*

IMG_3851

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
SEE, I DO KNOW HOW TO SMILE 🙂

IMG_3798

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

IMG_3847

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
LEARNING TO LAUGH HAS BEEN THE BEST LESSON

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

IMG_3848

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
ON TOP OF THE WORLD
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
THE REAL ME

All these amazing shots were taken by the beautiful and talented Ari Leticia and I would like to take the time to thank her for bringing this shoot into fruition and really capturing who I am as an artist and as a creative soul that longs to find her way and a place to call home on this here green earth. I experience a rainbow of emotions on any given day , but I. AM. HAPPY. And that’s all that matters. I am learning to love my body just the way it is until I am able to change it . I pray you all find it in your heart to do the same for me, but most importantly , for yourself too.

 

Ari Leticia – Photographer

Contact Info for Booking & Pricing Info

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/arileticia_

 

As always , thanks for listening ❤

-Taj

Leave a Reply

