1st Generation Dreamer.

1st generation college student . It’s a phrase you hear all the time and I , for a while, thought that that would be my title . Straight out of high school I made the decision to pursue my Associates RN license to fulfill my then dream of being a registered nurse . Then life happened & my dream changed . I don’t regret my decision to leave school , but it does sadden me that I disappointed some people in the process. I’ve always been and always will be a fan of higher education ; I will get a degree before I return to dust. I just couldn’t see myself spending thousands and thousands of dollars on a degree for a careeer I no longer saw myself in . At my core I am a creative soul and not having freedom to create is a life that I saw for myself if I continued in the nursing field . I think it’s so important to love what you do and do what you love and I found myself living a life that contradicted that. Making the choice to follow my dreams and give up the lifestyle I knew was something I did after much prayer and consideration . My family doesn’t agree with my choices,  but I know I have their support at the end of the day . I feel like most people feel like theirs no room for dreaming when you have responsibilities and I want to change that status quo. I want to be the one to show my family that you can dream and that if you work hard enough that it will come into fruition . My younger sister is pursuing her college degree and I am so proud of her for that . She can have that life; it works for her . For me , I like the thrill of the chase and the idea of reaching for the stars as if they are eye level. Titles don’t define me , but I’ll gladly take this one ; 1st Generation Dreamer. 

As always , thanks for listening ❤️

-Taj

Leave a Reply

