Searching . . .

*pauses job search*

For the first time in over 7 years I am back in the pool of the unemployed and having the darnest time finding a JOB. This is such a different experience because I am so used to working and being busy that I can’t truly appreciate this standstill that I am at. I feel like I am being unproductive and I hate to admit this , but I am really missing the familarity of routine. I know, the very thing I moved to get away from , is now what I desire. Crazy. But I think we have established that my sanity is still in questioning. I am drowning in a pile of resumes , references and coverletters; oh joy. I’m trying not to complain because I knew the risks and consequences before I moved and I did it anyway , but the unknown is definitely scary. I wrestle with my emotions and self-doubting tendencies a lot, but I know that I am built for this, I just need to get out there and get what I asked for. Being alone gives me a lot of time to sit and think and we all know “an idle mind is the devil’s playground.” So I am trying my hardest to get out , meet new people and try to make new connections and relationships. I really recommend “MeetUp” which is an app available on your mobile device that can connect you with different groups of people in your area with shared interests and hobbies. I had the pleasure of attending an event on Saturday ( Yes, the day after I moved ha-ha) with a group of ladies , it was a 2016 Vision Board Party. It was perfect because I was already a bit leery about meeting up with people I didn’t know , but the vibe of the event was very welcoming and not intimidating at all. I felt very relaxed and I really enjoyed my time. My vision board came out AWESOME and it made me excited for this new year! VB

And as an added bonus I now have a new friend in the area; we went for happy hour last night. That was a wild and crazy experience! So while part of me is freaking out about being unemployed , the other half of me is very much at peace with my decision and knows that if I give it my all nothing but good can come from it. I don’t know who this is for, but I want to encourage you to dream and reach for everything that your heart desires and more than that , to trust the gifts and the talents that God has given you. Trust yourself enough to go for what you want. It’s okay to be scared . It’s okay to second guess. But don’t you dare allow it to stop you from walking in the greatness that is destined for your life. Give it your all and God will respond. I am living proof. Okay, enough preaching.

*returns to job search*

As always , thanks for listening ❤

-Taj

2 thoughts on “Searching . . .

Leave a Reply

