30 Day Challenge: Day Seven

Day Seven: What tattoos do you have and if they have meaning

Come on I’m a poet , does anything I do NOT have meaning?! Ha-ha, but no, seriously.

I have three tattoos right now and yes they all have meaning.

Tattoo #1 : Circa 2011

This tattoo is one of the more simple ones I have , but it holds a lot of sentiment because it forever solidified the bromance between me and my cousin Nebbie. We got a pretty cheap inexpensive African symbol on the inside of our left ankles. I’ll post it below & it’s meaning. Although the meaning of the symbol resonated with us both, I was more happy to have a matching tattoo with one of my favorite people in the world! Our bond is forever, just like our tattoos. (I know that’s corny, but leave me be ha-ha)

Sankofa@High

Sankofa is a word in the Akan language of Ghana that translates as “reach back and get it” (san – to return; ko – to go; fa – to fetch, to seek and take) and also refers to the Asante Adinkra symbol represented either by a bird with its head turned backwards taking an egg off its back, or as a stylised heart shape.

Tattoo #2 & #3: Circa 2013

I cannot believe I don’t have any pictures of these two tattoos!! I’m so upset. I’ve been like 3 different iphones and they all have some of the best pictures on them that I will never ever get back * goes into mini depression* Curse me for never backing up my phone !

Both of these tattoos were done in one sitting and equally hold space in my heart. I drew both of them myself and I am pretty proud of how they turned out.

I have one on my chest , strategically placed right over my heart, that says “True Love Waits.” Anyone who has followed my blog knows that I am a virgin waiting until marriage for sex , but what you all don’t know, is how close I was to go back on this vow. Not because I was in love or anything of real importance, but because I was tired of waiting and temptation is a female dog! Close call. The actual tattoo is a heart with a lock and a ring as the key, clearly the ring being more symbolic than anything, but who doesn’t want the ring?! And underneath the heart is the promise that I’ve made to myself and a much needed reminder to myself, TRUE LOVE WAITS. So the next time my shirt comes off, I’ll have my handy dandy , reminder!

My last tattoo is on my back , on the opposite side of the other tattoo, and is a very large butterfly with a teal blue cancer ribbon in the middle of it and underneath in cursive is the ever so true title, “Mommy’s Girl.” My mommy loves butterflies and she’s a cervical cancer survivor. I’ve almost lost my mother twice, once to cancer and another to her own demons, but she’s still here. And I’ll forever thank God for that. Because this girl does not know how to live in a world without her mother. And she better not ever make me.

Cervical-Cancer-Ribbon

As always, thanks for listening,

Taj

Leave a Reply

