Broken

I don’t know how I got this broken
I thought I closed this chapter of my life
So imagine my surprise
When I doubled back & realized
It was still open
Salty old wound
So stubborn
So reluctant to heal
Even time said you’d be closed by now
Yet you keep bleeding
I’m convinced that you’ve made an alliance
With my tear ducts to excrete remnants of feelings
I thought I had exhausted
Funny valentines
Sad sad Christmas
In the end he ended up on wishlist & my hit-list
But I said I was moving on
Box to the left , just like Bey told me
Complementary call made
Sounded something like
“Come get yo shit”
Well actually that wasn’t exactly it
That was never said aloud
Went more like
“I know you’re busy , but when you have the time I have your things ready for you, So just let me know when you’re coming , alright?”
3 months later , no answer
Box where I left it
Bleach underneath the sink
The two together made for interesting chemistry
How’s that for damaged goods
I don’t know how I got this broken
Said I was closing this chapter of my life
So imagine my surprise when
I got to my front door, and opened it
And there he stood
Never imagined it’d be him when I heard
My doorbell ring
Of course I knew why he came.
And with a smirk on my face
I told him have a seat
While I gathered his things.
I don’t know how I allowed myself to get this broken.
But I have a pretty good idea of who broke me.

Leave a Reply

